FSU String Ensemble Recital

Because of the coronavirus pandemic, musical performances before live audiences of the general public will not be held until conditions warrant. However, the Department of Music is continuing its series of online presentations. Links will be posted at www.frostburg.edu/concerts.

Visit www.frostburg.edu/concerts and click an event to be directed to the FSU Localist Events page; click the red “Join Steam” button on the right side of page to join the livestream.

Unless otherwise noted, concerts are free to view online. For info, contact FSU’s Department of Music at 301-687-4109.

If you miss the livestreams, Music Department recitals are available for viewing on YouTube: Frostburg Music Department.

For concerts open to the FSU community: To prevent the spread of the coronavirus, FSU follows state health guidelines requiring the wearing of masks and physical distancing from others. Visitors to campus must visit www.frostburg.edu/checkin for symptom monitoring before arriving on campus and be prepared to display the “Reduced Risk” badge.

FSU’s Department of Music Presents Online String Ensemble Recital, “Music and Friends”

The Frostburg State University Department of Music will present a livestreamed String Ensemble Recital, “Music and Friends,” on Wednesday, April 28, at 7:30 p.m. from FSU’s Pealer Recital Hall.

Per FSU event guidelines and COVID restrictions, the general public may only attend the online streamed event. The recital is open to 50 members of FSU community – faculty, staff or students – on a first-come, first-served basis.

Conducted by Dr. Karen Lau, the ensemble will be accompanied by pianist Dr. Jay DeWire and guest artists Hana Chitsaz and Wesley Mason on violins.

The program will include “Brandenburg Concerto No. 5” by Johann Sebastian Bach, arranged by Lynne Latham; “Allegro for Cello and String Orchestra” by Antonico Vivaldi, arranged by Kathy Fishburn; the third movement from “String Symphony No.1 in C Major” by Felix Mendelssohn; “Lullaby Waltz” and “Raven’s Pass” by Doug Spata; “Duet – In the Style of Mozart” by Carl Stamitz; “Minuet” by Luigi Boccherini, arranged by Rick Mooney; the third movement from “Piano Quartet in G Minor, KV 478” by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; and the first movement from “String Quartet, Op.18, No.1” by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Wednesday, April 28, 2021 at 7:30pm to 8:30pm

Pealer Recital Hall, PAC
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, Frostburg

Event Type

Music, Performance, Recital


Music Department

Phone for Info


Contact Person

Theresa Skidmore

Contact E-mail