Sign Up

101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, Frostburg

FSU’s Department of Music Presents Faculty Showcase Recital

Frostburg State University’s Department of Music will present its Faculty Artist Series Faculty Showcase Recital on Friday, Sept. 29, at 7:30 p.m. in the Pealer Recital Hall of FSU’s Woodward D. Pealer Performing Arts Center. The concert is free and open to the public. This event will also be livestreamed; click the “Join Stream” button on this page a few minutes before the recital is scheduled to begin, or any time during the recital, to view the live performance.

The concert will feature Joshua Bishop on euphonium performing the third movement and finale, “Giocoso,” from “Euphonium Concerto” by Vladimir Cosma. This is an epic and majestic euphonium concerto, written very much in a Spanish style.

Next, soprano Dr. Chun-Ting Chao will perform “Allons il le fauts ... Adieu, notre petite table” from “Manon” by Jules Massenet, an opéra comique in five acts to a French libretto by Henri Meilhac and Philippe Gille, based on the 1731 novel “L’histoire du chevalier des Grieux et de Manon Lescaut” by the Abbé Prévost. It is the quintessential example of the charm and vitality of the music and culture of the Parisian Belle Époque.

The second movement, “Adagio affettuoso,” from “Cello Sonata No. 2 in F Major, Op. 99” by Johannes Brahms will be performed by cellist Dr. Karen Lau. Brahms composed this sonata in 1886, more than 20 years after completing his “Sonata No. 1.” It was written for, dedicated to and first performed by Robert Hausmann, who had popularized the first sonata. In “Adagio affettuoso,” the cello part opens in a pizzicato exposition of the main theme over piano chords.

Dr. Avery Pettigrew, on horn, will play “Divertimento for Horn and Piano,” which Jean Françaix composed in 1953. Françaix was a 20th-century French neoclassical composer, pianist and orchestrator who composed works for a wide spectrum of ensembles, many unconventional. His prolific compositional career resulted in a handful of works becoming standard in the horn repertoire.

“Signore, ascolta!” (“Lord, hear”!) from “Turandot” by Giacomo Puccini will be performed by soprano Bixiao (Bessie) Wang. “Turandot” is an opera in three acts by Puccini with a libretto in Italian by Giuseppe Adami and Renato Simoni, the music completed by Franco Alfano in 1926 after Puccini’s death. The opera is set in China and follows the Prince Calaf, who falls in love with the cold Princess Turandot.

Dr. Brent Weber, on soprano saxophone, will perform “Garden of Love” by Jakob ter Veldhuis. Composed for oboist Bart Schneemann in March 2002, “Garden of Love” is based on a poem by William Blake.

Pianist Dr. Joseph Yungen will perform a piece by Charles-Valentin Alkan, a French composer and virtuoso pianist. At the height of his fame in the 1830s and 1840s, he was among the leading pianists in Paris. “No. 8 Lento appassionato in A flat major” is from “Op. 35, Douze études dans tous les tons majeurs,” which Alkan composed in 1848.

The Faculty Jazz Quintet – with Weber on saxophone, Dr. Donald Albrecht on trumpet, Tom Harrison on piano, Peter Lewis on bass and Dr. Mackenzie Jacob LaMont on drums – will be the last to perform. Their pieces will be announced from the stage.

For more information, contact FSU’s Department of Music at 301-687-4109.

Event Details

  • Aaliyah Becan
  • Kamirah Billups

2 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity

Frostburg State University Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved