Joseph Yungen, pianist - Faculty Recital

FSU’s Department of Music to Present Joseph Yungen in a Faculty Artist Series Concert of Famous Sonatas

The Frostburg State University Department of Music will present pianist Joseph Yungen in a Faculty Artist Series concert on Sunday, Sept. 24, at 3 p.m. in the Pealer Recital Hall of FSU’s Woodward D. Pealer Performing Arts Center. The recital is free and open to the public.

The program will include a variety of famous sonatas.

Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Piano Sonata No. 26 in E-flat major, Op. 81a,” known as the “Les Adieux” sonata, was written during 1809 and 1810 after Napoléon Bonaparte’s attack on Vienna forced Beethoven’s patron, Archduke Rudolph, to leave the city. Beethoven titled the three movements “Lebewohl” (“The Farewell”), “Abwesenheit” (“The Absence”) and “Wiedersehen” (“The Return”) and reportedly regarded the French “Adieux” (said to whole assemblies or cities) as a poor translation of the feeling of the German “Lebewohl” (said heartfully to a single person). The sonata is one of Beethoven’s most challenging because of the mature emotions to be conveyed throughout. It is also the bridge between his middle and later periods.

“Piano Sonata in A Minor, D. 784” is one of Franz Schubert’s major compositions for the piano. He composed the work in February 1823, perhaps as a response to his illness the year before. It was not published until 1839, 11 years after his death. The D. 784 sonata, Schubert’s last to be in three movements, heralds a new era in his output for the piano, and is a profound and sometimes almost obsessively tragic work.

“Piano Sonata No. 4 in F-sharp Major, Op. 30” was written by Alexander Scriabin in 1903. It consists of two movements, “Andante” and “Prestissimo volando,” and is the shortest of the composer’s sonatas (about 8 minutes). The sonata is written in a post-Romantic style, similar to Scriabin’s other works of the time. The first movement is expressive and calm, and the second, celebratory and climatic.

Sergei Prokofiev’s “Piano Sonata No. 7 in B-flat Major, Op. 83” (written in 1942 and occasionally called the “Stalingrad”) is a sonata composed for solo piano, the second of the three “War Sonatas,” which contain some of Prokofiev’s most dissonant music. It has been suggested that after forcing himself to compose a cheerful evocation of the nirvana Stalin wanted everyone to believe he had created, Prolofiev subsequently, in these sonatas, expressed his true feelings. It was therefore ironic that Sonata No. 7 received a Stalin Prize (Second Class).

Yungen is a successful solo performer, collaborative artist, new music advocate and teacher. Achievements include winning the Ann Fehn pianist’s First Prize in the 14th Annual Jessie Kneisel Lieder Competition, completing the Collaborative Piano program at Music Academy of the West and winning First Prize in the 88th Annual Schubert Club Competition in Minneapolis. In addition to his performing activities, Yungen is a founding member of the faculty and administration of the New Jersey Young Artist Piano Competition, an educational seminar for advanced young pianists. Yungen is a lecturer in FSU’s Department of Music. For more information on Yungen, visit

For more information about the concert series, contact the Department of Music at 301-687-4109.

Sunday, September 24, 2017 at 3:00pm to 4:30pm

Pealer Recital Hall, PAC
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, Frostburg

Event Type

Music, Performance, Recital


Music Department


Free and open to the public

Phone for Info


Contact Person

Theresa Skidmore

Contact E-mail

Ticket Info - Cost/Ticket site

Free admission (no tickets required)