FSU Percussion Ensemble Concert

FSU’s Department of Music to Present Percussion Ensemble

Frostburg State University’s Percussion Ensemble will present its second fall concert on Tuesday, Dec. 3, at 7:30 p.m. in the Pealer Recital Hall of FSU's Woodward D. Pealer Performing Arts Center. This event is free and open to the public.

Directed by Dr. Mackenzie LaMont, the concert will feature the music of Michael Colgrass, an American-born Canadian musician, composer and educator.

Percussion Ensemble students include Ryan Barber, Blaine Becker, Deandre Cook, Anthony Fasci, Ariyonna Gibson, Kamonte Johnson, Nora Kopit, Preston Leshinskie, Matthew Payne and Antonia Zais. They will be joined by guest student Garrett Spence.

Colgrass was a Pulitzer Prize-winning classical composer who often highlighted percussion instruments in his works and sometimes stripped to his shorts and stood on his head while demonstrating the connection of the body to rhythm and dance to skeptical students and listeners.

Colgrass was also a jazz drummer and a versatile percussionist who performed with orchestras and in the first Broadway production of Leonard Bernstein’s “West Side Story.”

He won the 1978 Pulitzer Prize for Music for “Déjà Vu,” commissioned and premiered by the New York Philharmonic, and an Emmy Award in 1982 from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences for the Public Broadcasting System documentary “Soundings: The Music of Michael Colgrass.”

For more information, contact FSU’s Department of Music at 301-687-4109.

Tuesday, December 3, 2019 at 7:30pm to 8:30pm

Pealer Recital Hall, PAC
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, Frostburg

Event Type

Music, Performance, Recital


Music Department

Phone for Info


Contact Person

Theresa Skidmore

Contact E-mail


Ticket Info - Cost/Ticket site

Free and open to the public.