Faculty Recital: Mark Gallagher, clarinet, & Brent Weber, saxophone

FSU Faculty Artist Series to Present Duo Vif, the Woodwind Duo of Mark Gallagher and Brent Weber

The Frostburg State University Department of Music Faculty Artist Series will present Duo Vif, the woodwind duo of clarinetist Dr. Mark Gallagher and saxophonist Dr. Brent Weber, on Thursday, April 10, at 7:30 p.m. in the Pealer Recital Hall of FSU’s Performing Arts Center. The recital is free and open to the public.

The recital will begin with “Sonata (1918)” by Francis Poulenc, which makes use of sequences and repetition with three movements, “Presto,” “Andante” and “Vif.” The recital will also feature “Concert Duo No. 2 in D Minor” by Bernhard Henrik Crusell, “Duo Sonata No. 5 in Ab Major” by Georg Phillip Telemann and “The Ox and the Lark” by Nikola Resanovic. Gallagher and Weber will also play “Moods for B-flat Clarinet and Alto Saxophone” by Violet Archer, a piece that explores the expressive moods of the two instruments in four movements, “Theme and Variations,” “Introspective,” “Whimsical” and “Rhapsodic.” The recital will close with selections from “Concert Duo” by Grigory Kalinkavich.

Gallagher, an Oberlin Conservatory of Music graduate, is an active chamber musician and has toured throughout the United States and Europe. He is an instructor of clarinet and music theory at FSU. In addition to his busy performing schedule, Gallagher is an active clinician, lecturing on occupational health issues for musicians and the Alexander Technique.

Weber, a lecturer at FSU in saxophone and jazz, has enjoyed a diverse musical journey as a performer and educator. He was an assistant professor of saxophone at China’s Sichuan Conservatory of Music for two years until he returned to the U.S. to pursue his doctorate in musical arts.

For more information, contact the FSU Department of Music at 301-687-4109.

Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Pealer Recital Hall, PAC
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, Frostburg

Event Type

Music, Performance, Recital


Music Department


Free and open to the public

Phone for Info


Contact Person

Theresa Skidmore

Contact E-mail


Ticket Info - Cost/Ticket site

Free admission, no tickets required