Baltimore Guitar Duo - Faculty/Guest Artist Recital

FSU’s Department of Music to Host Baltimore Guitar Duo in Online Faculty-Guest Artist Series Concert

Frostburg State University’s Department of Music will present a livestreamed Faculty-Guest Artist Series concert by the Baltimore Guitar Duo, FSU’s Isaac Greene and James Keretses, on Friday, Sept. 18, at 7:30 p.m. The free recital will be livestreamed; click the red 'Join Stream' button at right to watch the live performance.

An honors ensemble from the Peabody Institute, the guitar duo of Greene and Keretses will present a recital of beautiful solo and duo guitar works by composers Marcello, Albeniz, Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Tansman and Pujol.

Greene began music lessons at the age of 8 on the clarinet, and started playing guitar at age 13. After high school, he attended Bob Jones University as a church music major, where he was a two-time finalist in the Commencement Competition, while continuing classical guitar studies at the University of South Carolina. After graduating from Bob Jones University, Greene moved to Baltimore where he earned a master’s in guitar performance at the Peabody Conservatory, and where he is working on a doctorate in guitar performance, teaching a studio of private students and serving in the music ministry of his church. Greene is a lecturer in FSU’s Department of Music.

Keretses began studying classical guitar at his high school. Since then, he has gone on to complete a bachelor’s in guitar performance at the University of South Carolina. There he was awarded the Christopher Berg Guitar Award, given to students exhibiting creativity, humility, perseverance and improvement in their study of the guitar and music performance. After graduating from USC, Keretses moved to Baltimore and completed a master’s in guitar performance at Peabody Conservatory. He is pursuing a doctorate in guitar performance and teaching guitar privately in Baltimore.

"Concerto for Oboe and Strings in D Minor" by Alessandro Marcello (arranged by Drew Henderson
"The Birth of Venus" by Cody Criswell
"Nocturne-Fantasy, Op. 69" by Lowell Liebermann
"Tres Cenas Brasileiras" by Sergio Assad
"Córdoba" by Isaac Albeníz
"Milonga de Junio" by Máximo Diego Pujol
"Sonatina Canonica, Op. 196" by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco
"Fast" by Ron Pearl

Because of the coronavirus pandemic, musical performances before live audiences will not be held until conditions warrant. However, the Department of Music is planning a series of online, livestreamed, presentations. To view livestreamed events link to the event at and click the red 'Join Stream' button on the event's page. For more information, contact FSU’s Department of Music at 301-687-4109.

Friday, September 18 at 7:30pm to 8:30pm

Virtual Event
Event Type

Music, Performance, Recital


Music Department

Phone for Info


Contact Person

Theresa Skidmore

Contact E-mail

Ticket Info - Cost/Ticket site

Free - Livestreamed