A Musical Celebration of Bach

Student artists in the Department of Music will present a “Musical Celebration of Bach” Monday, Oct. 21, at 7:30 p.m.

Selections include:

“Chorale: Gloria sei dir gesungen” from “Cantata No. 140, Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme” performed by soprano Mikayla Young, alto Stephanie Laut, tenor Lane Conklin and bass Zachary Dodge

“Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major” by Mike Murphy on electric bass

“Prelude No. 1 in C Major” from “Das Wohltemperierte Klavier I, BWV 846” by Geoffrey Westbrook on piano

“Et exsultavit spiritus meus” and “Esurientes implevit bonis” from “Magnificat, BWV 243, in D Major” by Laut, accompanied by Sean Beachy on piano

“Air From Orchestral Suite No. 3” by Ryan Sheally on flute, Tanika Henry on tenor saxophone, Westbrook on trombone, Marc Williams on piano, Murphy on double bass and Gary Hartman on percussion

“Prelude No. 24 in B Minor” from “Das Wohltemperierte Klavier I” by Sheally on flute, Heather Wahl on clarinet, Henry on tenor saxophone and Westbrook on trombone

“Sonata in E Minor” by Sheally on flute.

Johann Sebastian Bach was one of the most influential composers of the Baroque period and is likely the most famous composer in the history of music. During his life, he composed well over a thousand pieces of music (that we have record of) for many instruments and voices. The combination of creativity, simplicity, technical superiority and utter genius found in his compositions still baffles musicians to this day.

The recital is free and open to the public.

Monday, October 21, 2013 at 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Pealer Recital Hall, PAC
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD, Frostburg

Event Type

Music, Performance


Music Department


Free and open to the public

Phone for Info


Contact Person

Theresa Skidmore

Contact E-mail


Ticket Info - Cost/Ticket site

Free, no tickets required.